41st Annual Eclipse Awards to broadcast live on January 16

Eclipse Award

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters announced today that the 41st annual Eclipse Awards will be broadcast live Monday, January 16 on HRTV, Racetrack Television Network, and DRF.com. The Eclipse Awards will take place at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, California.  The Eclipse Awards, honoring Thoroughbred racing’s champions in 17 horse and human
categories, will air from 8-10:30 p.m. EST.

The Eclipse Awards are presented annually to recognize those horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories.  The Eclipse Awards are co-sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association. Prior to the start of the Eclipse Awards in 1971, the TRA and the Daily Racing Form separately honored racing’s annual champions.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th century racehorse and sire, Eclipse, who didn’t begin racing until age five. He was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, three of his get winning the Epsom Derby.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order):

Two-Year-Old Male: Creative Cause, Hansen, Union Rags

Two-Year-Old Filly: Grace Hall, My Miss Aurelia, Stephanie’s Kitten

Three-Year-Old Male: Animal Kingdom, Caleb’s Posse, Shackleford

Three-Year-Old Filly: It’s Tricky, Plum Pretty, Royal Delta

Older Male: Acclamation, Game on Dude, Tizway

Older Female: Awesome Maria, Blind Luck, Havre de Grace

Male Sprinter: Amazombie, Caleb’s Posse, Regally Ready

Female Sprinter: Hilda’s Passion, Musical Romance, Sassy Image

Male Turf Horse: Acclamation, Cape Blanco (Ireland), St Nicholas Abbey (Ireland)

Female Turf Horse: Dubawi Heights (Great Britain), Perfect Shirl, Stacelita (France)

Steeplechase Horse: Black Jack Blues (Ireland), Decoy Daddy (Ireland), Tax Ruling (Ireland)

Owner: Midwest Thoroughbreds, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, Team Valor

Breeder: Adena Springs, Brereton C. Jones, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey

Trainer: Bob Baffert, Bill Mott, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Ryan Curatolo, Kyle Frey, Rosario Montanez