Horse racing honors – The 2011 Eclipse Award Winners

Eclipse Award

2011 Eclipse Awards – yearly honors in horse racing

Horse of the Year: Havre De Grace

Champion two-year-old male: Hansen

Champion two-year-old filly: My Miss Aurelia

Champion three-year-old male: Animal Kingdom

Champion three-year-old filly: Royal Delta

Champion older male: Acclamation

Champion older female: Havre De Grace

Champion male sprinter: Amazombie

Champion female sprinter: Musical Romance

Champion turf male: Cape Blanco

Champion turf female: Stacelita

Champion steeplechase horse: Black Jack Blues

Outstanding owner: Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Outstanding breeder: Adena Springs

Outstanding jockey: Ramon Dominguez

Outstanding apprentice jockey: Kyle Frey

Outstanding trainer: Bill Mott

Eclipse Award of Merit: Cot Campbell

Special Eclipse Award: Rapid Redux

Media Eclipse Award/Photography: Bob Mayberger

Media Eclipse Award/Writing – Feature/Commentary: Claire Novak

Media Eclipse Award/Writing – News/Enterprise: Jennie Rees

Media Eclipse Award/Television – Live Racing: ESPN

Media Eclipse Award/Television – Feature: HRTV

Media Eclipse Award/Audio and Multi-Media Internet: Thoroughbred Times

The history of the Eclipse Awards

The Eclipse Awards are presented annually to recognize those horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories.

The Eclipse Awards are co-sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Association. This year, the Stronach Group also sponsored the Eclipse Awards.  Prior to the start of the Eclipse Awards in 1971, the TRA and the Daily Racing Form separately honored racing’s annual champions.

J. B. Falconer, the first full-time publicity director at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky is credited with starting the Eclipse Award program.

The Eclipse Award of Merit is the industry’s highest honor. The most prestigious Eclipse Award for horses is the Horse of the Year title.  An Eclipse Award Trophy is presented to the winner in each division.  The trophy is made by a small selected group of American foundries with expertise in studio bronze casting. The trophy is then mounted on the hand
crafted native Kentucky walnut base.  A brass plate shows the award winner.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th century racehorse and sire, Eclipse, who didn’t begin racing until age five. He was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, three of his get winning the Epsom Derby.  Ack Ack won the first Eclipse Award for Horse of the Year.

This year the Eclipse Awards were televised by HRTV and streamed live at the Daily Racing Form website