The 2013 Preakness Stakes and the trophy – The Woodlawn Vase

The Woodlawn Vase

The 2013 Preakness Stakes post-position draw had only 9 horses entered out of a possible 14. Six horses that ran in the 2013 Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs were entered including: Orb, Goldencents, Mylute, Oxbow, Will Take Charge, and Itsmyluckyday.

The biggest threat from the East Coast is may be Departing. We had mentioned the connection between Orb and Departing last week on our Facebook page, “Departing, a newcomer to the Triple Crown in the Preakness were both together in a paddock at Claiborne Farm, playing and running as youngsters. Do you think they will remember each other?”

The biggest threat from the West Coast is Santa Anita Derby winner Goldencents. Goldencents did not seem to like the sloppy track at Churchill Downs but who knows? Jockey Kevin Krigger has spent the last 2 weeks with him and been there for every workout.

We learn so many interesting Triple Crown and racing facts when we tour the farms on our Kentucky Derby Tours day in Lexington on the Thursday before Derby. This year we had quite a few connections with all the farms that we visited and Derby horses.

First, we went to Claiborne Farm and learned about Orb and Departing. Next, we visited Rosecrest Farm – they bred and raised Goldencents from a foal. We had a wonderful tour of their facilities which included their bed and breakfast, along with peppermints to feed the mares and foals.

In the afternoon, we went to Calumet Farm – what can you say. The Calumet connection is Brad Kelly and his horse Oxbow. So much history at Calumet!

The forecast for today is a high of 71 degrees and a 50 percent chance of rain.

The lineup is as follows:

Post position, Horse, Trainer, Jockey, Opening Odds
1. Orb, Shug McGaughey, Joel Rosario, 1-1
2. Goldencents, Doug O’Neill, Kevin Krigger, 5-1
3. Titletown Five, D. Wayne Lukas, Julien Leparoux, 20-1
4. Departing, Al Stall Jr., Brian Hernandez Jr., 6-1
5. Mylute, Tom Amoss, Rosie Napravnik, 10-1
6. Oxbow, D. Wayne Lukas, Gary Stevens, 15-1
7. Will Take Charge, D. Wayne Lukas, Mike Smith, 10-1
8. Govenor Charlie, Bob Baffert, Martin Garcia, 15-1
9. Itsmyluckyday, Eddie Plesa Jr., John Velazquez, 10-1

The Preakness Stakes goes off as the 12th race at 6:20 PM.

Interesting facts about the trophy for the Preakness – Created by Tiffany and Company in 1860 as a trophy for the now defunct Woodlawn Racing Association, the Woodlawn Vase is presented each year to the winning Preakness owner. An assessment in 1983 of $1 million easily makes its silver design the most valuable trophy in American sports. Until 1953, winners were awarded possession of the vase until the following Preakness. That all changed when A. G. Vanderbilt’s Native Dancer won it but his wife did not want to take on the immense responsibility of the vase’s safekeeping. Now the winning owner is awarded a $30,000 sterling replica on a permanent basis while the perpetual is on display at The Baltimore Museum of Art and brought to Pimlico under guard for the annual running of the Preakness.