Two Kentucky Derby winners set for Breeders’ Cup Classic

BC logoIs it the Breeders’ Cup Classic or the Kentucky Derby? This year, the Breeders’ Cup will again have a total of 13 races spread over two days of racing with $26.5 million in purse money on the line. Friday November 4th will have four races headlined by the Grade 1 Breeders’ Cup Distaff, run for several years as the Ladies Classic, worth $2 million.

Saturday November 5th will have nine races headlined by the $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic at 1 1/4 miles. For a record ninth time, the races will be held at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. Because the facility is large enough, there will be unlimited walk-up standing room admission on both race days, but tickets will be sold in advance as usual.

Pre-entries will be announced on October 26 for all the races, and those horses will be the only ones who can enter. Final entries will be taken and post positions drawn on October 31.

The Breeders’ Cup will be televised on NBC and NBC Sports:
Friday, November 4, 5:00-8:00pm ET on NBC Sports
Saturday, November 5, 2:30-8:00 ET on NBC Sports
Saturday, November 5, 8:00-9:00pm ET (Classic only) on NBC

Right now it looks like we will have two Kentucky Derby winners in the Breeders’ Cup Classic. The horses currently listed as possibles include:
Horse   Trainer   Jockey
Arrogate   Bob Baffert  Mike Smith
California Chrome   Art Sherman  Victor Espinoza
Effinex  Jimmy Jerkens  Mike Smith
Found   Aidan O’Brien   Seamie Heffernan
Frosted   Kiaran McLaughlin  Joel Rosario
Gun Runner  Steve Asmussen  Florent Geroux
Hoppertunity   Bob Baffert  Flavien Prat
Keen Ice  Todd Pletcher  Javier Castellano
Melatonin   David Hofmans  Joe Talamo
Nyquist  Doug O’Neill  Mario Gutierrez
Shaman Ghost   Jimmy Jerkens  Javier Castellano
War Story  Mario Serey, Jr.  Antonio Gallardo
Win the Space  George Papaprodromou  Joe Talamo

When was the last time that two Kentucky Derby winners were in the Breeders’ Cup Classic? Do you think Nyquist and California Chrome, the Kentucky Derby winners will run 1-2?