Will we hear a Rebel yell at Kentucky Derby Time?

The Rebel Stakes at Oaklawn Park in Hot Spring, Arkansas is the site this week of the sole Kentucky Derby 2013 point earnings race.  Will we hear a Rebel yell at Derby Time?  Who knows? The last Kentucky Derby winner to come out of the Rebel Stakes was the popular gelding Smarty Jones in 2004. Sunny’s Halo in 1983 is another Rebel winner who went on to win the Kentucky Derby.

The Rebel will follow the 50-20-10-5 point format for 1st through 4th.  That means that a win here could put the winner in a 5 way tie at the top of the 2013 Kentucky Derby point standings. The shape of the 2013 Kentucky Derby prep races seems to be changing with the current point system almost allowing a entry in the Derby after just one prep race when the points are in effect.

D. Wayne Lukas and Bob Baffert both Hall of Fame trainers have two horses each in the race.  D. Wayne Lukas will saddle Oxbow with Mike Smith aboard and Jon Court will ride Will Take Charge in the 1 1/16-mile race.  Oxbow is owned by Calumet Farm and Kentucky Derby Tours will visit the Farm this year on our Derby week visit to Lexington.

Silver haired Bob Baffert has entered Super Ninety Nine with Rafael Bejarano aboard and Robby Albarado will ride Den’s Legacy. Baffert must have lower odds on his horses, as he has trained the last three winners of the Rebel Stakes.

Delhomme, trained by Todd Pletcher-trained Delhomme will boast having Garrett Gomez in the irons and Ron Ellis trained Treasury Bill will have Joe Talamo aboard.  Just a note – Garrett Gomez has ridden Den’s Legacy in his past six races.

Carve is coming into the race with a perfect two-for-two mark for trainer Steve Asmussen, who’s tabbed Corey Nakatani to ride.

Title Contender has moved to the barn of Wayne Catalano and will have Luis Quinonez onboard for the race.

Texas Bling, Hardrock Eleven and Stormy Holiday round out the Rebel Stakes.

Wonder if we will see a Derby winner here.  We do know that the winner of the race will probably have the point standings to be in the 139th Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on May 5, 2013.

Safe racing and good luck to all!