2012 Kentucky Derby horses moneywise – Graded Stakes earnings

2012 Kentucky Derby on May 5 at Churchill Downs

Here is the current standings “Moneywise” for the 2012 Kentucky Derby. We only listed those nominated to the Triple Crown and money is as of March 26, 2012. The next two weeks will definitely shake up the list with the graded stakes money in the Florida Derby, Santa Anita Derby, UAE Derby, Illinois Derby, Louisiana Derby, and the Wood Memorial,

Rank Horse Graded Earnings Owner(s) Trainer Last Race
1. Hansen $1,400,000 Kendall E. Hansen & Sky Chai Racing (Harvey Diamond) Mike Maker 1st Gotham
2. Union Rags $1,070,000 Chadds Ford Stable (Phyllis Wyeth) Michael Matz 1st Fountain of Youth
3. Creative Cause $686,000 Heinz Steinmann Mike Harrington 1st San Felipe
4. Sabercat $601,429 Winchell Thoroughbreds, LLC Steve Asmussen 8th Rebel
5. Wrote (IRE) $556,630 Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith Aiden O’Brien 1st BC Juv. Turf
6. Daddy Nose Best $545,558 Bob and Cathy Zollars Steve Asmussen 1st Sunland Derby
7. Secret Circle $470,000 Mike Pegram, Karl Watson & Paul Weitman Bob Baffert 1st Rebel
8. Dullahan $405,000 Donegal Racing (Jerry Crawford) Dale Romans 2d Palm Beach
9. Liaison $393,000 Arnold Zetcher LLC Bob Baffert 4th San Felipe
10. Prospective $365,452 John C. Oxley Mark Casse 1st TB Derby
11. Drill $300,000 Mike Pegram, Karl Watson and Paul Weitman Bob Baffert 1st San Vicente
12. On Fire Baby (f) $286,729 Anita Cauley Gary Hartlage 1st Honeybee
13. Went the Day Well $282,000 Team Valor International Graham Motion 1st Spiral
14. El Padrino $200,000 Let’s Go Stable (Kevin Scatuorchio & Brian Sullivan Todd Pletcher 1st Risen Star
15. Isn’t He Clever $188,000 J. Kirk and Judy Robison Henry Dominguez 2d Sunland Derby
16. Optimizer $181,375 Bluegrass Hall LLC (Brad Kelley) D. Wayne Lukas 2d Rebel
17. Alpha $180,000 Godolphin (Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum) Kiaran McLaughlin 1st Withers
18. Trinniberg $174,500 Shivananda Parbhoo Bisnath Parboo 1st Swale Stakes
19. Rousing Sermon $170,000 Tree Top Ranches (Mr. & Mrs. Larry D. Williams) Jerry Hollendorfer 5th San Felipe
20. Castaway $162,000 Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith Bob Baffert 7th Sunland Derby
21. I’ll Have Another $151,000 J. Paul Reddam Doug O’Neill 1st Bob Lewis
22. Currency Swap $150,000 Klaravich Stables, Inc. (Seth Klarman) and William H. Lawrence Teresa Pompay 2d GP allw. race
23. My Adonis $130,000 George and Lori Hall Kelly Breen 2d Gotham
24. Battle Hardened $127,000 Mrs. John Magnier and Michael Tabor Eddie Kenneally 6th TB Derby
25. Genten $123,826 Masamichi Hayashi Yoshito Yahagi 8th Keio Hai Nisai
26. Brother Francis $120,000 Norman Cheng Jim Cassidy 3d SA MSW (T)
27. Mr. Bowling $115,848 Brereton C. Jones Larry Jones 11th Risen Star
28. Lucky Chappy (IRE) $115,000 Team Valor International Graham Motion 2d El Camino Real Derby
29. Gemologist $103,855 WinStar Farm LLC (Kenny Troutt) Todd Pletcher 1st GP allw.
30. Longview Drive $102,834 Steve Beneto Jerry Hollendorfer 6th (DH) Southwest
31. Scatman $100,000 JEOG Racing LLC Mike Lauer 3d Rebel
32. Take Charge Indy $98,400 Chuck & Mari Beth Sandford LLC Patrick Byrne 2d GP allw.
33. Stirred Up $96,000 Robert LaPenta Bob Baffert 3d Sunland Derby
34. Daddy Long Legs $94,030 Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith Aiden O’Brien 12th BC Juvenile
35. Red Duke $90,823 Maxilead Ltd. John Quinn 8th Dewhurst
36. Howe Great $90,000 Team Valor International (Barry Irwin) Graham Motion 1st Palm Beach
37. State of Play $90,000 Team Valor International (Barry Irwin) Graham Motion 1st Battaglia Memorial
38. Zip Top (IRE) $85,244 Godolphin (Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum) Mahmood Al Zarooni 2d Racing Post Trophy
39. Jake Mo $85,000 Stephen R. Brown Allen Milligan 4th Rebel Stakes
40. News Pending $80,000 Klaravich Stables, Inc. (Seth Klarman) and William H. Lawrence Dake Romans 2d Fountain of Youth
41. Shared Property (g) $79,700 Jarry Namy Tom Amoss 5th Risen Star
42. Handsome Mike $73,500 J. Paul Reddam Doug O’Neill 4th Spiral
43. Golden Ticket $70,000 Magic City Thoroughbred Partners Ken McPeek 2d Tampa Bay Derby
44. Z Dager $65,000 Zayat Stables LLC (Ahmed Zayat) Steve Asmussen 3d Risen Star
45. Power World $61,354 Courtlandt Farms (Donald A. Adam) Bill Mott 7th Champagne
46. Bodemeister $60,000 Zayat Stables LLC Bob Baffert 2d San Felipe
47. Mark Valeski $60,000 Brereton C. Jones Larry Jones 2d Risen Star
48. No Spin $56,354 Black Gold Racing Tim Ice 4th Sunland Derby
49. Most Improved (IRE) $53,080 Iraj Parvizi Brian Meehan 3d Dewhurst
50. Ever So Lucky $48,502 Augustin Stable Jonathan Sheppard 3d Swale
51 Heavy Breathing $47,000 Starlight Racing (Jack Wolf, et al) Todd Pletcher 3d Spiral Stakes
52. Discreet Dancer $40,000 E. Paul Robsham Stables LLC Todd Pletcher 3d Fountain of Youth
53. Finnegans Wake $40,000 Donegal Racing Dale Romans 3d Gotham
54. Tiger Walk $40,000 Sagamore Farm Ignacio Correas IV 4th Gotham
55. Midnight Transfer $36,000 Warren B. Williamson Carla Gaines 3d San Felipe
56. Laurie’s Rocket $35,333 Willis D. Horton Dallas Stewart 10th Southwest
57. Cozzetti $35,000 Jacks or Better Farm, Inc. (Fred Brei) Stanley Gold 3d TB Derby

According to a Churchill Downs press release issued on Feb. 16, 2012, in case of a tie for the final entry position or the determination of all remaining starters, preference is given to horses that accumulated the highest earnings in non-restricted stakes races. If a tie still remains, the final spots in the starting gate will be determined by lot or a “shake.”

For the first time since 1984, there will be an “also eligible” list with as many as four horses eligible to draw into the field until scratch time on Friday, May 4 at 9 a.m. ET.