2016 “Kentucky Derby Future Wager” Pool 1 starts today

churchill from infield smallerThe first of four pools of the 2016 Kentucky Derby Future Wager (“KDFW”) opens a four-day run on Thanksgiving Day at Churchill Downs Racetrack, TwinSpires.com and other online wagering outlets and satellite wagering centers across North America.

Nyquist, who completed a perfect five-race 2-year-old campaign with his Breeders’ Cup win at Keeneland on Oct. 31, is listed as the 10-1 choice among 23 individual horses in the field of 24 wagering interests in KDFW Pool 1. But Churchill Downs odds maker Mike Battaglia has tabbed “All Others” – which includes all 2-year-old Thoroughbreds other than the 23 individuals on the Pool 1 roster – as a strong morning line favorite at odds of 7-5.

Other top early contenders for the 142nd running of the Kentucky Derby in KDFW Pool 1 include Albaugh Family Stable’s Brody’s Cause (#3, 15-1), winner of the Claiborne Breeders’ Futurity (GI) at Keeneland; Shadwell Stable’s Mohaymen (#13, 15-1), an unbeaten son of Tapit and winner of Aqueduct’s Nashua (GII) on Nov. 4; and Big Chief Racing LLC and James Justice’s Swipe (#20, 15-1), a winner only once in seven 2015 races but runner-up to Nyquist in all four of the latter’s stakes victories.

Bob Baffert, whose triumph with American Pharoah in the 2015 Kentucky Derby raised his victory total in America’s greatest race to four, leads all trainers with three KDFW Pool 1 wagering interests. The Baffert trainees are Drefong (#6), Mor Spirit (#14) and Toews On Ice (#22). Trainers with two horses among the pool’s individual wagering interests are Chad Brown (#8 Flexibility, #9 Gift Box), Mark Casse (#1 Airoforce, #5 Conquest Big E), Keith Desormeaux (#7 Exaggerator, #20 Swipe), Kiaran McLaughlin (#2 Annual Report, #13 Mohaymen) and Dale Romans (#3 Brody’s Cause, #23 Unbridled Outlaw).

The first pool of the 2016 KDFW opens at noon (all times EST) on Thursday, Nov. 26 and betting will conclude on Sunday, Nov. 29 at 6 p.m.

The opening pool of the 2016 KDFW will be accompanied this year by the first Kentucky Derby Sire Future Wager, which allows Derby fans to wager on the sire that will produce the winner of the upcoming Run for the Roses. Like the Future Wager, the sire wager features 23 individual sires of horses in this year’s crop of Kentucky Derby-age Thoroughbreds, along with an “All Others” betting interest.

No scratches or refunds of wagers are permitted in the Kentucky Derby Future Wager.

2016 Kentucky Derby Future Wager Pool 1
Thursday, Nov. 26-Sunday, Nov. 29, 2015
# Wagering Interest Morning Line Odds Winning Payout
1 Airoforce 20-1
2 Annual Report 30-1
3 Brody’s Cause 15-1
4 Cocked and Loaded 30-1
5 Conquest Big E 50-1
6 Drefong 30-1
7 Exaggerator 30-1
8 Flexibility 30-1
9 Gift Box 30-1
10 Greenpointcrusader 30-1
11 Gun Runner 30-1
12 Matt King Coal 20-1
13 Mohaymen 15-1
14 Mor Spirit 20-1
15 Nyquist 10-1
16 Rated R Superstar 50-1
17 Riker 30-1
18 Sail Ahoy 30-1
19 Sunny Ridge 50-1
20 Swipe 15-1
21 Synchrony 30-1
22 Toews On Ice 30-1
23 Unbridled Outlaw 30-1
24 Mutuel Field (All Others) 7-5
Morning Line Odds by Mike Battaglia

Dates for the remaining 2016 Kentucky Derby and Kentucky Oaks future pools are:

• KDFW Pool 2 – Feb. 12-14
• KDFW Pool 3 – March 11-13
• Kentucky Oaks Future Wager – March 11-13
• KDFW Pool 3 – April 1-3