Fan voting is now open for the 2012 Eclipse Awards

2013 Esclips Awards

The Daily Racing Form, the Breeders’ Cup and the National Thoroughbred Racing Association announced on Wednesday, September 18th that they have launched the 2012 Eclipse Horse of the Year Fan Vote Sweepstakes.

The free-to-enter sweepstakes requires fans to select the horse they feel deserves to win the 2012 Horse of the Year Award, which will be announced January 19 at the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards ceremony at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida. Fans are also encouraged to cast their votes in a host of other Eclipse Award categories. Who will win the coveted ‘Horse of the Year’ Eclipse award? Will the 2012 Kentucky Derby winner, I’ll Have Another be the 3 year old champion?

All voters will be entered in a random drawing for a trip for two — including airfare, hotel accommodations, ground transportation and event tickets — to January’s Eclipse Awards ceremony, plus reserved seats and VIP access for a day of racing at Gulfstream Park. If you have never been to the Eclipse Awards, it is a wonderful event with much electricity in the room as the audience of horse racing devotees awaits the winners. See our blog at  to see the 2011 Eclipse Award winners.

Voting is available at and will continue until 3 p.m. (EST) on January 3. The prize winner will be drawn on or about January 4. Following the close of voting, but prior to the Eclipse Awards, DRF, Breeders’ Cup and the NTRA will release the fans’ top choices in each Eclipse Award category, including Horse of the Year and 3 year old male champion.

The sweepstakes is open to U.S. and Canadian (excluding those in the province of Quebec) residents. For official rules, please visit

Actual Eclipse Award voting takes place among designated representatives of the NTRA, DRF and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters. Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $375 each. Order forms for tickets are available by contacting Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at