2016 Road to the Kentucky Derby standings

starting gateFebruary means that we start musical chairs for point standings as horse racing fans get excited about the 2016 Kentucky Derby.

Will we have another Triple Crown winner?

The Road to the Kentucky Derby is a 35-race series that awards points to the Top 4 finishers in each race. The Top 20 point earners will earn a spot in the starting gate for the 142nd running of the $2 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (Grade I) on Saturday, May 7, 2016. The Kentucky Derby field has been limited to 20 starters since 1975.

At least 20 horses have entered the 1 ¼-mile race for 3-year-olds every year since 2004, and 15 of the last 17 years.

Rank Horse Points Owner(s) Trainer Non-Restricted Stakes Earnings

1. Nyquist 30 Reddam Racing LLC (J. Paul Reddam) Doug O’Neill $1,580,000
2. Mohaymen 20 Shadwell Stable (Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum) Kiaran McLaughlin $514,830
3. Sunny Ridge 18 Dennis A. Drazin Jason Servis $505,600
4. Exaggerator 16 Big Chief Racing LLC (Matthew W. Bryan) Keith Desormeaux $940,000
5. Flexibility 15 Klaravich Stables Inc. (Seth Klarman) & William H. Lawrence Chad Brown $232,500
6. Brody’s Cause 14 Albaugh Family Stable (Dennis Albaugh) Dale Romans $500,000
7. Greepointcrusader 14 St. Elias Stable (Vincent Viola), MeB Racing Stables LLC & Brooklyn Boyz Stables (Mary Ellen and Anthony Bonomo) Dominick Schettino $369,300
8. Mor Spirit 14 Michael L. Petersen Bob Baffert $246,800
9. Swipe 12 Big Chief Racing LLC (Matthew W. Bryan) Keith Desormeaux $597,130
10. Mo Tom 12 G M B Racing (Gayle Benson) Tom Amoss $188,326
11. Airoforce 10 John C. Oxley Mark Casse $444,080
12. Cocked and Loaded 10 Richard Ravin & Patricia’s Hope LLC (Vince Foglia) Larry Rivelli $280,840
13. Discreetness 10 Xpress Thoroughbreds LLC (Dwight Pruett) William “Jinks” Fires $245,042
14. Riker 10 Tucci Stables (Carlo & Lou Tucci) Nick Gonzalez $182,375
15. Collected 10 Speedway Stable LLC (Peter Fluor and K.C. Weiner) Bob Baffert $80,000
16. Vorticity 8 Matthew Schera James Lawrence II $150,000
17. Rated R Superstar 6 Radar Racing LLC (Paul Parker) Kenny McPeek $80,200
18. Toews On Ice 4 Mike Pegram, Karl Watson & Paul Weitman Bob Baffert $228,900
19. Tom’s Ready 4 G M B Racing (Gayle Benson) Dallas Stewart $66,670
20. +Gordy Florida 4 Dream Walkin Farms Inc. (Toby Covel aka Toby Keith) Kenny Smith $30,000